In December 2018 Google announced their decision to shut down Google+ for consumers due to low usage and challenges that the product faced and couldn’t meet consumers’ expectations. The official date has been set: April 2nd.
Now users know that they have about 2 months to retrieve their Google+ data before it’s gone forever.
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages users created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts.
Deleted data means all photos and videos from personal albums as well as Google+ pages. On the other hand, the data backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
Google notes that the process of deleting content will take a few months, during that time content may remain online.suit
… users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.
Another note: starting from February 4th users won’t be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events.
Also, read about a Next-gen News Publishing Platform Backed by Google.